šŸ‘‘ Top 500 Coach - AMA

What is this thread?

Thereā€™s a ton of discussion here about which heroes are OP, arguments about private profiles, complaints about leavers and matchmaking, rework suggestions, communication problems, and more. I am here to provide any insight that anyone might want on anything.

Who am I as a player?

My name is Eon, Neon, or Timeless but I typically go by Eon. Iā€™m obviously a DPS player but Iā€™m also not oblivious to the requirements of other roles. I might not personally play Reinhardt but I can certainly tell a good one from a bad one and offer suggestions to improve your gameplay. I currently play Widow, Doomfist, McCree, and Hanzo but I have extensive experience on pretty much every DPS hero in past seasons and on other accounts. Iā€™m unbias in my assessments of the game.

Who am I as a coach?

I have been an Overwatch coach for WaWaā€™s Bootcamp for almost two years now and have coached dozens of students ranging from Bronze to 4.2k. I have literally seen it all. I have never had a student come away from a session confused or feeling bad about their gameplay. Iā€™m honest and donā€™t sugar coat things but thatā€™s whatā€™s needed for improvement.

One of my proudest coaching achievements has been a repeat student of mine and his climb alongside his sessions. He came to me as a mid Master Tracer player who was struggling to improve and was in the ā€œhardstuckā€ mindset. I have worked with him for the past month or two and he has made massive strides forward. Earlier this week I had the pleasure to queue into him in a 4150 average SR game. I have never been so happy to see someone apply what they have learned right in front of my eyes.

What will I answer?

Iā€™m here to clear up anything and everything. No question is too stupid or too niche. No question is unanswerable. This is the original thread that was updated in the General Discussion. I carried the formatting through to this one to make it cleaner and more professional.