Thanks for all the fish

Today, I’m officially done with Overwatch.

I’m not a content creator, I’m not a pro, and I know most of you don’t care about who I am, and why I’m quitting. But because the game was legitimately fun for the past two years, I think it’s good manners to at least give the community and the devs my point of view of what one of the games I loved since isn’t engaging anymore for me.

FIrst, some background. And that’s really important. I’m not a FPS player. I did play a lot of Doom, Counter Strike 1.6, Goldeneye 007, Medal of Honor and its sequels (on PS1), and more in my teen years. Most of them, I found the gameplay boring after I was done with the story missions, and in case of CS, I played because it was a LAN House fever in Brazil at the time, and all my friends played too. But if I was alone, I would mostly go to Warcraft 3 and RPG stuff.

There is only two FPS games that caught my attention for more than that bare minimum. Team Fortress 2, and Overwatch. And both, for the same main reason. The game was engaging for players like me, that weren’t attracted by the mechanics of clicking heads. I found my ground in TF2 on Engineer and Pyro (I was a decent Medic/Spy as well), and I found my ground on OW in Symmetra and Torbjörn (I am a decent Brigitte, Pharah and all-tanks player as well).

I know some people will already be thinking about the “git gud” and “learn 2 aim” situation with Symmetra, but if that was the case, I would not play Torb. Torb requires decent aim to get good value, and I can land my cheetos. I don’t enjoy the aspect of aiming, but I understand it being part of the game, just like I don’t enjoy grinding XP in JRPGs, but I do it anyway.