Pardon My Ignorance - StarEdit

Hi there,

It seems StarEdit isn’t supported any more and I can see that. However, most of the maps I used to make were fairly simple, only needing StarEdit and minor touchups with Emerald. I’ve never used scmdraft before - is there still an unsupported version of the original StarEdit available? Is StarEdit Emerald to be found anywhere? Or is SCMDraft the only option now?

Thank you!

9-13-2021 at 2:21 PM - PDT

As mentioned NUMEROUS times in other Threads, StarEdit was Deprecated by Blizzard. They will NO LONGER support that Editor. There is a SEPARATE, MANUAL way to continue to DL StarEdit, with the knowledge that at some point in the near future that some SC:R Update MAY BREAK StarEdit permanently.

With that said, SCMDraft 2 by Sinsanity IS SUPPORTED by Blizzard as the NEW Official Map Editor of SC:R. For continued support in SC:R it is BEST to use SCMDraft 2 by Sinsanity.

TimeLord04

[EDIT:]

I’ve never heard of ‘Emerald’. If this was 3rd party, (OUTSIDE of Blizzard), it MOST LIKELY WON’T function in SC:R. So, again, it is BEST to learn and use SCMDraft 2 as it is supported by Blizzard and noted as the NEW Official Map Editor for SC:R.

TimeLord04

Hey Gidoza,

Here is the last supported version of StarEdit.

[@Leviathan,]

Thank you for that Link to the last StarEdit DL location. I can never find such things when I really need them.

Between the Link and my info on SCMDraft 2, Gidoza should be well in hand, now for whichever way he decides to go.

TimeLord04

1 Like

Hi!
Try this Emerald Editor link

https://gamebanana.com/tools/3206

Also, what’s your reason to not use SCMDraft 2? I was a little overwhelmed at first, but then I found it was all cool

I had never used SCMDraft before, and moreover I had always used a MacIntosh until recently - to my knowledge SCMDraft never worked on Mac computers so I just made the most of limited resources.