Choosing Class to Main

I’m sure this has been asked a million times … but I’m new to HS and my personality is to become very proficient at a couple of classes vs enjoying the variety of many classes. I’m only at apprentice 20, but I’m enjoying Paladin, Warrior, and DH. Seems like midrange is my “style”. I think I’d like decks that are complex (and make you think … strategy) vs those that are basic and straight forward. Not looking for a debate, just opinions and guidance for someone new to HS. Appreciate any thoughts of what class(es) I should focus on? Thank you in advance …

Priest and mage are bad choices because they are frequently neutered.

It’s impossible to know what will be good in the next expansion and beyond, so it’s really hard to tell someone what classes are good choices.

3 Likes

Don’t.

This isn’t like a RPG where you just can effectively focus on one class without much trouble. If you do something drastic like disenchant off-class cards, then you’ll be at a huge loss if you ever want to try those in the future.

Which is important, because the character of classes changes with each expansion, and even more so when cards rotate out and the Core set changes. A class that you like today may be completely different later, and one that you don’t like might get a new deck style that is really compelling.

Let your collection grow, and you’ll naturally fall into patters you enjoy. But don’t force anything.

9 Likes

Thank you for the reply … not really looking for classes that will be “good in the future. More looking for classes that fit my personality. Complex, strategic, make you think, use combinations … build towards mid game? Appreciate your thoughts?

1 Like

The point I am trying to get across is that whatever that answer is today may be wrong in the next expansion, so choosing a class instead of list is bad.