WoW causing network to crash after 1-2 minutes

For the past week I’ve been having my network (multiple devices across the house and router) losing connection specifically when I enter world in WoW. By losing connection I mean my router drops all connections and sometimes even restarts. I’ve tested other online games as well as other services (youtube, netflix, etc…) but WoW has been the main suspect (I even tested this on another computer with the same results). I have some IT background so I did some troubleshooting already but can’t figure this out.

• Google Nest router with Nest AP
  • Hardwired to switch
    • Switch goes directly to router
    • Router goes to ONT
  • PC hardware (99% sure this is unrelated but someone might ask)
    • 32 gb ram
    • 3060 ti
    • Ryzen 9 3900x

Sounds like your router might need replacing if it reboots when you connect.

That’s what I was thinking but was hoping someone else had the same issue and found a resolution.

You’ve tried everything from this blue post?

1 Like
  1. Network driver updates
    Yes, didn’t have any updates really… I’m usually on top of updates.
  2. Power cycling your hardware
    Definitely have done this.
  3. Switching to an Ethernet cable connection
    Swapped cables, routers (from my personal one back to the ISP given one), and even tried on a different computer both wireless and wired.
  4. Bypassing network hardware like routers
    Have not tried this but this yet, but odd that the game would crash multiple computers and routers so I don’t think it is my computers or routers now but maybe the ISP’s ONT.
  5. Testing from a different network or a mobile tether
    No, will try and test on cell tether
  6. Replacing the device that is crashing
    Multiple routers crashing.