Zerg defence (noob)

I started playing SC2 and Zerg 1v1 6 days ago and I have learnt a lot in that time, it feels like Zerg have to spread themselves around and build multiple hatcheries as they are both Zerg military and economic buildings, but I struggle to defend my hatcheries once they are built. Mass marines, transformers and BCs tend to be able to destroy my hatches before I can even get my army over to defend, which results in me losing bases even when I am at a military advantage.
My only working counter at the moment is simply to build random hatches, lairs, spawning pools and spires around the map so the blow of losing any 1 or 2 bases is not so bad, I find that when people wipe out your 3 closest bases to your starting location they tend to give up on finding any others.
The problem is this tactic is expensive and I have the feeling if I was playing better players they would pretty quickly wipe out my spare bases.
So can Zergs put up a cost effective defence against a more mobile army of heavy units?

You’re doing the right thing.

1. Think about what you loose compared to what your opponent looses but also income.
    If you loose 1-2k more ressources than your opponent but you have 500 more income, you will be even after 4 minutes and ahead if the game goes on longer.
    –> burrow (upgrade @ hatchery) to burrow drones at a base that is being or going to be attacked if you don’t have time to evacuate the drones
    –> creep and changelings (from overseers) will help you scout an attack earlier
    –> splitting your army in case of attacks from more than one side will make you faster (use the hotkeys for “add to control group and take away units” in the last section of control group hotkeys!)
1 Like

thanks for the reply, burrow is nice and saves me a lot of drones, as far as changelings go, how often should I be making them? And how should I go about getting them into the base?