Stuttering Lag Issues

Hey all,

I just started playing this game and have been having a lot of fun except for frequent lag spikes/stuttering. I’ve been looking through the forums for solutions and there seem to be many different things people have tried with limited success.

I have made sure that Dropbox, OneDrive, and the Blizzard Launcher are closed. I also deactivated Game Mode in Windows.

I’m assuming it’s a network issue since it seems to happen randomly, not necessarily when graphics intensive stuff is happening. I have a pretty powerful machine with a GTX 1070. The game recommends Extreme graphics but I am on Ultra with Vertical Sync off.

I am on Wifi, but I have a good connection and router. I have no problems playing Overwatch. I ran a WinMTR, but it seems fine to my untrained eye. Would appreciate some assistance, especially since I don’t seem to be able to post a link to the pastebin…

2 Likes

Hey, Nurnburger!

You can just post the last segment after the slash in pastepin.com and we will be able to look it up. As for the stutter, do you have the ability to test on a wired Ethernet connection to help rule out the wifi adapter/connection being the problem?

Lastly, can you save your DXDIAG to pastebin, also? This will give us a better idea what may be happening if it isn’t connection related.

Hi Ibaraius,

Two MTR runs here: c3BUTDUm and qazT2ikX
The DXDIAG is here: XmAFT1Br

I tried it out wired and it seemed to fix the issue. Two games no lag at all. Unplugged it for the next game and had multiple instances of ~1 second lag spikes.

1 Like

It looks like the test may not be working properly, the tool isn’t recording any data for these. I tend to see this when an outdated version of the MTR tool is used. We have the most up to date version listed on this page.