New player getting bullied

Why is the HOTS community more toxic than overwatch?
I have been playing overwatch for 5 years and just recently come onto HOTS and I’m getting paired with level 1200 plus and they are constantly reporting me for throwing when in fact I’m just learning and having fun. It’s not my fault I get paired with high levels. I was sadly bullied to the point of tears the other night. It’s hard enough being a female and wanting to chat and have a good time but to be bullied for wanting to learn a new moba and have a good time, is so silly. Am I the only new person getting bullied in this game? What the hell do I do if my account gets banned for something which is out of my control?

9 Likes

I’m not sure what to tell you really. Moba’s in general have a very toxic community. This one does have measures they try and take to prevent such things though such as no “all chat” like LoL and they do seem to enforce the silences on players who are toxic. So just report them and try to remember its just a game. Not everyone is a pro and some maybe have a hard time understanding that. If someone makes a personal attack on you and its just not game related then make sure you put that in the comment when reporting someone for being toxic to you.

7 Likes

Thank you. I really appreciate it

2 Likes

I highly recommend you get used to the game with AI matches, preferably with a friend and under coop matches with humans as allies. Getting into QM or, heaven forbid, SL is going to cause you and others a lot of trouble if you run into towers and die on level 1 (guilty as charged on my first match).

6 Likes

Thank you muchly :3 :3

2 Likes

Hey no worries, I’m glad you’re listening. Having new players is always nice to see :slight_smile: I hope you have as much fun as I did when I first started!

9 Likes

The game matches you with level 1200’s even as a newbie because the player population is low at the moment.