Not a power creep, but a power flood

When the removal of Duels is official, I will be retiring from Hearthstone. I’ve been playing on/off since 2018, maybe not as long as others, but a significant amount of time (and money) has been spent on this game.

Titans set seems to have opened the flood gates into this game, and they don’t see to have any intention of fixing it. To highlight some of the many problematic cards:

1. Sif 6 mana for +6 spell damage? Remember when 9 mana for +5 spell damage on Malygos was a good legendary?

2. Odyn / Sargeras / Helya / etc. creating permanent game effects with absolutely no set up. Remember when Forged in the Barrens quest cards got nerfed for being too good? That wasn’t even 2 years ago.

3. Windfury magnetic for 1 mana and its not even good enough… Remember when Zilliax was an autoinclude in almost every deck?

4. Yogg was printed as a 0 mana 1-sided board wipe in neutral that also had other modes. Remember when board wipes actually costed mana and weren’t 1-sided? Sure they’ve nerfed it now, but just totally ridiculous we had to play through that for a month.

Now the focus is on another ridiculously overpowered set that includes a permanent Brann effect, but is only in 1 class… At least if it were Neutral we’d get some variety like after the Yogg printing.

Standard seems to be a perpetual state of disarray and is the only format that they still support as all of the other formats are being phased out.

5 Likes

There are some good points there. Any “for the rest of the game” effect that cannot be removed “limits design space”. Brann limits design space for anything with battlecry, and Odyn limits design space for anything which grants armour.