New Player Experience

Hello,

I started playing Hearthstone a few months ago as a result of one of my favorite Twitch content creators doing a sponsored demo of the game. I wanted to share a few thoughts as a new player who has relatively few Rare and above cards (helped some by the recent catch up deck via Badlands). Some examples:

• When playing magnetizing mechs, Silence spells shouldn’t totally eliminate the magnetization effects. Currently, when a mech that has had other mechs magnetized to it is silenced, ALL of the benefits are eliminated. Instead, the added Attack and Health should remain and only abilities like Wind Fury, Taunt, etc. should go away. This would help make mech decks more competitive and would make more logical sense that the spell strips enhancements but not “structural” improvements to the mech. And yes, I know it is a fantasy game where “magic” can explain anything illogical, but my point remains.
  • I’ve read that Death Knight isn’t considered to be a very strong class. That may be true at higher ranks, but, as a new player I can tell you that for low ranks it seems WAY over-powered. Yes, I know that some decks are rocks to the Death Knight scissors, but in the Bronze through early Gold ranks, it seemed that about half of all decks I have faced have been Death Knight and they were on average stupidly overpowered against most other decks in that rank range. I laughed when the Coppertail Snoop from my Rogue mech deck was nerfed but nothing from Death Knight was nerfed (that I recall). I could give any number of specific examples, but here are a few that stand out to me.
    • The Death Knight Hero Power is OP. Calling an undead that has Rush and can be used to finish off a one health minion, remove a Divine Shield, etc. with no consequence to the Hero AND provides a Corpse is OP. Death Knights use their Hero Power more than any other Class from my observation.