Goodbye Blizzard/Activision/Microsoft/Etc. Etc. Etc

Warning Long read incoming…

I’ve played World of Warcraft since 2005. Was in a guild named for the sound a murloc makes founded by two brothers, Stew and Brud. These two men had the patience of Job. They spent countless hours fielding questions, educating and literally parenting the mostly kids in our guild. They took a Motley Crue of internet strangers, myself included, and attempted to mold us into a group capable of raiding, winning bg’s and succeeding in WoW. I have fond memories of them and the years spent grinding out my toons. I found and lost love in WoW. Got lost in the lore. When it started to feel like a job, I’d quit but they’d release a new expansion and I’d be right back. I started playing Hearthstone in 2014. Mostly as a F2P player. I’d become accustomed to the Blizzard grind. I swore to myself I wouldn’t let HS become the timesuck WoW had become so in the last few years I began to spend $ to purchase cards to remain competitive. A few days ago, out of the blue, out of the corner of my eye, my screen flashed on my tablet which said something about dust. It wasn’t until the next day that I realized I had 11,200 (5,600 × 2) more dust in game. My thought process went first to…a gift from the Microsoft Overlords? This was at least 4 times more dust than I’d ever been able to grind out in game. I thought it must be a bug. A gift this game changing would have been preceded by an announcement, some fanfare. Cautiously I decided not to spend it assuming the company I’d had a working relationship with and, for the most part, trusted for some 17 years would, given some time, find some way to sort out. Checked the forums to find it was a reimbursement. Then that the amount of dust they reimbursed was wrong. A warning that spending the dust might place you in a negative balance. That they’d be taking back the dust. That people were missing dust they had before this debacle. That the people who crafted cards wi