~80% of games have been Bots since i started playing again

I recently started playing HS again, i first started playing after Un’goro and played pretty consistently, all the way until Barrens/Alterac Valley.
I picked the game back up when Blizzard sent me a notification for 80 free packs for rejoining old players, i took that deal because that’s an easy deal right there, but a huge problem im having is i can’t actually play against any other players.
You can tell someone is a bot if they have 1 of 2 types of names and their play style.

Players that have a name along the lines of “OilyEagle” “ToastedGrass” “OrangeBuster” which COULD be real players using the automated blizzard name system, but that’s dis-proven when you examine how they play, they don’t communicate with emotes (might have a script for ‘Greeting’ at the start), they don’t look at cards in their hand, they just play them, and they will make illogical plays sometimes using the new card set. (Will play a Titan, won’t use his abilities, Will play cards in incorrect order, Won’t attack with a minion that can now attack due to conditions, etc.)
Another way to distinguish them is by “adsfsa” “adfssfa” “fasffsa” “asfsfsda” type names, no cardback and using basic neutral set deck. Usually these bots are all confined to the lower ladder, but now they’re creeping into Silver/Gold ranked play, and it’s hard to learn the new decks when im fighting a bot every game, and every game against a player ends by turn 5 with them spamming out a 9/9 ghoul and 14/14 Edwin.

3 Likes

Those are blizzard bots, they appear mostly on lower ranks. Once you go up you dont see them so often anymore.

What is the purpose of adding bots to the game? I can’t properly test my deck out against competing decks because of the fact that the lower ladder is filled with bots. As soon as i get to Gold, i’,m fighting real people with real meta-decks and critical thinking skills. It’s not very smart decision, if they are actual blizz-bots.