You Lost Me, Blizzard

Well, since Blizzard gave me an automated response and marked it as answered, I guess I’m going to have to make my private matters public. Great system you have here, Blizzard.

A letter to Blizzard:

You Lost Me

Battle for Azeroth wasn’t my cup of tea, but I reluctantly played it until Classic WoW released. When it did, I switched over to Classic but came back to BfA nearing the end of the expansion when I heard of the Mighty Caravan Brutosaur.

When Shadowlands released, I made it a goal to earn 5,000,000 gold for the mount. I was willing to spend hours farming gold through World Quests, materials, and professions. Ever since I started playing World of Warcraft, I’ve enjoyed farming materials. Cloth, meat, fish, leather, ore, herbs—you name it—and having this mount would keep me working. I would have an auction house whenever I wanted it, giving me more incentive and more joy farming materials, and with the auction house change implemented, listing auctions is much easier, so even the listing portion of the farming is less painful.

It wasn’t until a month into the expansion that I was told by a streamer that the Brutosaur had been removed with Shadowland’s pre-patch. From that point on, I played WoW less and less. I stopped running Mythics, World Quests disinterested me, and Raids gave me nothing. It wasn’t until recently that I realized why I became so disconnected with the game. It was because I had nothing to work towards. Additionally, playing Classic World of Warcraft is pointless as all the game’s content has been exhausted. Likewise, the friends I played with in Classic WoW are starting to switch over to Shadowlands because of this, so not only is there nothing to do, but there’s no one to play with. The combination of these matters incited me to write this letter because, at this point, you will lose my business.