Why people play classic?

I have been playing wow for 13 years, since WoW beta. Now that on it’s own does not mean much, but it entitles me to an educated guess. The moment I lost interest in wow was when things started getting easier.

The purpose of a game is to challenge you and when you accomplish your goals to make you feel rewarded. When the game is too easy and items are easily accessible the accomplishment of said goals diminishes.

What makes classic great in my opinion is precisely what was removed from the game with it’s many expansions: the ability to be unique in a closed community, where few if any can do or have the things you do. That gave you a feeling of responsibility to your guild and to your server. If you left or did not show up for your raid, you are irreplaceable! This also allowed players who are not as good, look up to you as their leader, as someone they want to be!

12 Likes

15th anniversary…

13 years…

WoW beta…

pancakes…

18 Likes

I did not play last 2 years :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I don’t get where people have this notion that classic is harder. Maybe the leveling is harder, but raiding is far more difficult in BFA. Your character’s rotations are also more complex in BFA.

6 Likes

No rotation in BFA is ‘hard’.

13 Likes

They are much harder than classic, which was my point. Classic literally has 1 button rotations.

2 Likes

Started playing during Wrath. Wanted to know what Vanilla / Classic was like. Particularly how bad Druids were.

1 Like

gear is all that matters in a mmo, Harder game = harder to get items

1 Like

BFA has the highest difficulty ceiling. Mythic+ and mythic raids are far more difficult than any vanilla content…

Kinda made me lol as a shadow priest on retail.

1 Like