What is the deal with beta invites

Why do I have multiple friends that haven’t accomplished that much, that don’t stream and have been playing for years less than me WHO DIDNT EVEN OPT IN getting the beta access (some of who I recruit a friended 9 or so years ago) I’ve been playing the game for 10 years done more than my friends played more consistently, created youtube content and never once have I received beta access, 1 friend in particular who hasn’t done much and isn’t all too great at end game content has got it for the second time and he doesn’t even have interest in downloading or playing the beta, yet I opted for beta have accomplished plenty more over the years and have made viewer content, please @devs explain how you pick people for beta because I’ve been waiting since like cata for a beta invite

The process is largely random.

There’s no way someone got it if they didn’t actually opt in, though.

People seem to have this notion that Blizzard is hand-picking or slighting you. The reality is none of your achievements are all that amazing and they couldn’t even tell you the account names of 98% of the people in beta. It’s an automated process that they provide some criteria for.

3 Likes

WTB Line breaks Batman!!!

3 Likes

100% mate didn’t opt in he has 0 interest and has got it on his battlenet launcher

Because it’s not a meritocracy.

Yet you’re apparently supposed to opt for beta which I did and my mate didn’t yet he still got it , sense made? I think not

It’s random. lol

Some people in my discord who haven’t played WoW in 5+ years have received beta invites.

1 Like

I generally don’t like telling people about their own experiences, but I’ll make an exception just this once and say your friend probably did opt in and just forgot about it or they’re messing with you. Either way I’m sorry you didn’t get in, but if it’s any consolation, Shadowlands will be here very very soon anyway.

3 Likes