We have finally reached the point where hardware is able to overpower WoW

I was streaming 2 nights ago and on world bosses I was getting 80-100 FPS in 40 person groups. Level 7 settings, 3440x1440. 5800X, 32GB 3600MHz CL16 Memory and RX 6800 XT. We did it, mankind finally made hardware so powerful that it can make up for WoWs shortcoming in old and outdated code and deliver good FPS!

1 Like

Some of us have had similar performance for years.

3 Likes

I don’t think this is new but yeah pretty cool stuff ^^
I’ve been playing WoW since March 2019… played a years later only for a bit idk what expansion probably WoD…
But I say to myself a lot of times, damn I wish I had played WoW sooner, it’s such a great game, but… I found 2 of my favorite free MMOs in 2008… I could barely run them, I could probably run WoW during that time, but it was a crap pc so it’d be pretty low settings…
my problem was that I didn’t know anything about WoW during that time, my dad did but idk why he didn’t help get it for me :frowning: We barely had any money too so subscription may have not been an option…
Couldn’t have joined during classic cause in 2005 I was 12 I think, and had my first pc which was a 4GB HDD 512MB RAM… lol…

Missed out on the great days of the burning crusade and wotlk… all I can do is wait for our new classic to bring them one day. Having a crap pc and no money for subscription and not knowing much about WoW were reasons I couldn’t play… but now I got it running at almost similar settings as you and subscription is no problem xD but I’ll always be a newbie for starting at bfa :frowning:

How the hell did you get all those components when they are not available anywhere?

The new AMD chips are still a bit faster than the good old 8700k

1 Like

I was doing that on my first WoW PC with an athlon xp 3200 and nvidia 6600gt… :lying_face:. :rofl:

Well congrats for you i guess.

Ive had sustained frames over 60 for literally years with high to ultra settings each time.