The Stigmatization of MWs (Mostly PVP)

Introduction

Before beginning, I suppose I really ought to introduce myself a little. I’m a long-time PVP Healer, having started out PVP healing way back in Cata. I played through part of MOP, skipped WOD, and returned during Legion. I mained a gDruid in Legion and BFA, but I always had a Healer alt on hand - typically a Priest; I also dabbled in rDruid. Unlike many of the people on these forums, I just started playing MW fairly recently. By, “Fairly recently” I mean to say since patch 8.3. Admittedly, I avoided the Monk class like it was the plague all these years; however, when Blizzard introduced the XP boost near the end of patch 8.3, I decided to give the Monk class a shot. A buddy of mine rolled a WW, and I rolled a MW. Long story short, I fell in love with MW. My MW became my main, and - to this day - my MW still is.

What did I love about MW? First and foremost, I loved the mobility. After all those years of playing a slow-moving Priest, MW felt so nice. Relying on mobility, and avoiding as much damage as possible, just felt natural to me - more natural than having to literally face-tank things on a cloth-wearing Priest by cycling CDs. Secondly, I loved their powerful ST healing - even if it made them go OOM relatively quickly. I mean, it kinda made sense that they go OOM relatively quickly if you spammed a ton of powerful ST healing. It was a trade-off: spammable powerful ST healing, but it comes with a hefty mana cost. I didn’t mind the trade-off bc it was fair. It was nice to have powerful ST healing for once, and to actually be able to keep a target alive when pumping heals into it.