Targeting Macro Help

I’m new to macro’s and am wondering why I can’t get mine to work.

My end goal is a macro that targets players first, then hostile attackable npc’s if you don’t already have a target, then if the ability doesn’t cast it targets the nearest hostile npc to cast the attack and switches the target back to the first target.

So far I have a macro that tries to target enemy players, and then depends on melee auto-targeting to pick up npc’s. The first /targetenemyplayer commands seems to cancel out any subsequent /targetenemy commands. Is this not possible, or am I just doing something wrong?

Works:                                    Doesn't Work:
#showtooltip Festering Strike             #showtooltip Festering Strike
/cleartarget [help][dead]                 /cleartarget [help][dead]
/targetenemyplayer [noexists]             /targetenemyplayer [noexists]
/cast Festering Strike                    /targetenemy [noexists]
                                          /cast Festering Strike

I also have another macro that un-targets the current target to cast an ability on the nearest npc and then re-targets the prior enemy that I can’t seem to get to work right at all…

#showtooltip Death Strike
/cleartarget
/targetenemyplayer
/cast Death Strike
/targetlastenemy

I really don’t get it, the ability only goes through when nothing is targeted in the first place. When testing with a melee range enemy and targeting far enemy It will more often than not still target and initiate combat with the closer NPC even though the ability doesn’t work. Sometimes when spamming the button the ability works on the current target, I have no idea what the hell is going on.

Lastly, I have no idea how to not target neutral attackable mobs that aren’t currently attacking you or you manually click/tab to and I’m pretty sure it’s not possible. That said, I’m no expert so I wanted to hear from them.