Stacking Masterful as Frost

For Mythic+ hows stacking Mastery gear with a bunch of Masterful rank 3. is this the best corruption at this point and is there a certain amount of crit/haste I should maintain?

Been wondering this myself. Assuming you’re talking about NoIL?

Hard to sim keys properly but even though I have a ton of Masterful when I sim something like 1 min 4 targets Haste/Crit sim well above Mastery. And you have to consider packs during Tyrannical weeks where you’re not getting the best use out of Glacial Spike but you’ll be a force on boss fights.

Yeah. NoIL!

1 Like

The general way your secondaries work is if you full on stack one the others will shoot up in value by an insane amount. This is true for Frost as well.

The No-IL build favors Mastery and scales well with Mastery but needs a decent chunk of Haste & Crit as well, or it’ll not be as good as on a mage with a healthy mix of the other secondaries.

The other thing I need to point out, for mythic+, a high Mastery build may not be the best since most of your time is spent clearing trash and once you are beyond 2 targets (assuming you have splitting Ice) your Mastery loses value since you can only cleave onto 2 targets. This is something Frost always has to find a balance for.

Ultimately for a patch like this when there are a ton of essences, corruptions, and Azerite traits there’s no “xyz” build someone can give you, you just have to sim yourself and adjust your secondaries accordingly.

NoIL does not need any other stats. There is no realistically obtainable point at which you’d choose another stat over Mastery. You stack as much as possible without looking back, and aim exclusively for high Mastery-weighted items.

Losing a bit of Mastery value means very little. Mastery still scales our FOrb and if you’ve already geared toward NoIL your %mas corruptions will put Mastery ahead of all other stats at all mob counts.

1 Like