So Long, Big Love Rocket, and Thanks For All the Xanax

I wasn’t going to bother writing this; I was just going to leave quietly. Then I thought, you know what, I may as well just say my piece on the way out.

<—TLDR (blah, blah, two-months’-late-garden-variety Big Love Rocket whine, blah, blah) –

I’ve been playing this game since early 2005 and it’s been a huge part of my life the entire time. No matter what bout of unemployment I was dealing with, I always managed to scrounge a game card if I couldn’t afford my sub. Until now, not two weeks has gone by in 18 years that I haven’t logged in. I am afraid to discover how many thousands of real dollars I have spent on this game and associated collectibles in that time.

Like many others, my white whale was always the Big Love Rocket (which it will forever be known as). Every February since the mount debuted in 2010, I sent at least one toon through SFK every day it was up. When account-wide mounts became a thing (whenever that was), I created an army of alts for the express purpose of farming it. Year after year, I’d create more and more alts, determined that THIS would be the year it finally dropped. As other farmers know, the more toons you ran through the instance during a day (especially for horribly inefficient DPS-only classes), the longer queues got over time until you finally hit the too-many-instances wall. The start-and-end to the daily grind could easily be half a day with even a moderate-sized alt count. And mine was nowhere near as big as other people’s.