Paladin tanking tips?

I’ve been playing since wotlk but I’ve always played dps until literally a few months ago. I love tanking and I really love pally, I’m ok at it but I’ve only run base dungeons up until level 30 something.

I was wondering if I could get some general tips on what my opener should be and anything that seems helpful that I should know. I was in an accident in 2017 so my memory isn’t very good therefore videos and guides where I have to retain the information is hard for me, however, if I could just go back to this and see the basis of what I should be doing it’d be very helpful.

I am not a prot paladin. I am holy doing 20/21’s in M+.

But I still want to pitch in a little, but this is mostly for 60 content though.

• Make use of your Blessings. I use VuhDo panels to apply blessing easily. Biggest one would be Blessing of Protection. I see a lot of paladins who barely ever use it at their disposal.
  • For Tier 1 talent - afaik, Shield Block outperforms the spinny hammer things.
  • Paladins (in 60’s content) do need to self heal afaik. Healing them can be a nightmare sometimes, as unlike other tanks, they don’t seem to have same kind of damage mitigation.
  • you want to keep your Shield of Right armor buff.
  • Use your throwing shield ability ( Avenger’s Shield) off CD. Pair it with absorbs talent. Really strong in 60’s if you go Kyrian. It is also your opener, followed by Consecration.
  • You want to use your Hammer of the Righteous while you are standing on Consecration.
  • Keep Consecration up. It has no CD so maintaining 100% is very easy as you may have seen.

Talent’s wise, when I tank Torghast, I go
0-x-x
0-x-x
0-x-x
0-x-x
0-x-x
x-0-x
x-0-x

2 Likes

Opener is typically a shield throw, but if you’re trying to be precise and just pull 1 thing use Judgement or taunt then judgement.