LFG terms explained

Hi, I’m quite new to Classic WoW and I wonder if someone could explain some of the terms used by people looking for players in game chat.

I wrote down a number of them so I could ask. i know I could ask in chat but I guess I am a bit concerned people would think I was an idiot. Sometimes things that are obvious to most people aren’t that way if you are newish.

If they concern particular instances or raids, if you could say what they refer to and if something special is required to do them (other than level of course). I know sometimes activities in the game are better done by a class so it would help if I knew that for when my character is high enough to do them.

So some examples are:

DM (W/N)
Strat UD
Arena/Anger
Mara Princess

I’m assuming UBRS is Upper Blackrock Spire.

Are there any other examples I should know about? I know WC is Wailing Caverns, Stocks is Stockade and RFC is Ragefire Chasm because they are lower level and sort of easy to figure out.

(:

3 Likes

These usually refer to instances that have multiple parts:

VC - Van Cleef - deadmines. Needed because DM was taken over bi Dire Maul
DM (W/N) Dire Maul west and north wings
Strat - stratholme. There is a “live” side and a “dead” side
Mara - Mauradon - again, several wings to it.
SM - Scarlet monestary - it also has multiple wings.

There are others

Those ones you list would be:
Dire Maul (West/North)
Stratholme Undead (a specific portion of the instance, like Dire Maul West/North/East)
Blackrock Depths Ring of Law encounter/General Angerforge runs, usually only going for those two bosses for specific drops.
Maraudon - only to kill Princess Theradras specifically for her 1% hit ring.
Yes, UBRS is Upper Blackrock Spire.

Edit: No special requirements really to join one of these groups, and a mage is always good dps.