I can't play retail anymore

Ever since I started playing classic, my desire to play retail just keeps dwindling. It’s gotten to a point where in spite of missing my guildies and friends, I just don’t log on.

When I try, I’m instantly hit with a giant wall of “Why tf am I playing this? And why do I care about it?”

Then I think about it for a second and realize I don’t care. So then I just log off

I seriously don’t know what kind of sorcery the original vanilla devs wove into the game, but retail just doesn’t have it. There’s no single reason I can list as to why retail doesn’t compare to classic, it just doesn’t.

Maybe I’m just weird and enjoy the game being more grindy and everything taking more time and effort to attain.

Whatever the reason, I just can’t play retail anymore :frowning:

71 Likes

people say the same thing about classic, a 20 year old game.

you just feel like its better, it’s okay to feel that way, we all have preferences.

retail is just as grindy and arguable takes more effort, unless you’re just doing lfr/normal. it’s a different kind of grind though.

13 Likes

I wouldn’t judge retail right now. It’s about to get a reboot. But I’m not missing Naxx for it.

5 Likes

For me the main problem in retail is the gear system. You basically replace gear constantly and each gear jump is so massive your previous gear feels like garbage. Atleast in classic gear climbs at a reasonable rate and the upgrades tend to be minimal. Depends on the upgrade obviously. A fresh 120 will have 1/4 the health pool of somebody with current raid gear. How fun is that?

In retail all that gear you’ve been raiding/arena-ing for during the current patch will essentially be scrapped on the next patch. This is an endless cycle. It keeps people playing I get it, I just don’t find that fun personally. Rather play an alt.