Does gear matter in PVP? How so?

I just started playing wow again about 3 weeks ago. I can find almost no information on how gear effects PVP in Arena vs BGs vs Open World, Rated vs random etc. I have played on and off since vanilla and I have never been this confused.

Is there any useful information out there? Just did a few battlegrounds and some random world PVP. I have no idea how to judge where my skill level is vs gear?

I also had to turn my graphics settings down to around 4 just to see what was going on. The flashiness of spell effects are way out of hand.

In Legion we had templates. Where are we at now?

3 Likes

There is some kind of scaling implemented but Blizz has not released any nos behind it except put out a chart which seems aimed at second graders

10 Likes

How do I know how to gear for PVP Do I gear for secondary stats? Highest item level?

There is no templates anymore in PvP, gear is how gear is.
The better the gear, the stronger you will be, aim for the best secondaries for your spec, with as much versatility as you want for the increased resilience.

There is a modicum of scaling in the game but it’s very strange how it interacts.

Basically speaking everything is done in percents, not values.
So if you use a Lava Burst and it would deal 20% total health damage, it will still only deal 20% health damage to a player of a lower gear.

So getting up your stats will help, more crit means you crit more, more haste means you have lower GCD/cooldowns/cast speed/DoT ticks etc.
But your relationship to the opposite player will always change, and unfortunately I don’t know what the baseline works on.

But pretty much just gear how you would in PvE, but with the versatility you want.
Ilvl doesn’t matter for scaling, and in fact the better damage you can do with lower ilvl generally speaking the better off you will be.

4 Likes

Well how do you do in pvp? Do you ever get 2 shot? This has been a hot debate for a while now.

gear means everything now.