Do account penalties apply to all WoW accounts under a battle.net account?

My main account got banned over the weekend. I accepted the loss and moved on. Created a new account under my same battle.net account and created a new character.

However, around level 5 and 10 minutes of playing i had a warning for my communications in the top right. The thing is i haven’t communicated with anyone on that account yet. That’s the thing i got banned for on my former main account.

Is this a display bug, or was my new account also penalized? Do penalties carry over to a new account if it’s under the same battle.net account?

I tried opening multiple tickets for it, and spam within the ticket “THIS IS FOR MY NEW ACCOUNT, NOT PREVIOUS ACCOUNT” yet every. Single. Ticket. Keeps giving me the copy/paste response about account closures being permanent. No one is actually reading the ticket at all. I work in IT and if we continuously ignored the customer’s question in the ticket like that I’d be fired on the spot. Can we please have an actual human clarify? Im worried about buying DF on this new account if it’s going to just get banned for actions taken on another account.

Read the ToS:

Note key lines like:

Please note that violation of any of Blizzard’s Codes of Conduct (including with regard to Your use of Blizzard’s Websites and Forums) may result in penalties against your Battle.net Account, including suspension and/or termination of Game licenses.

Nowhere, in the ToS that you agreed to, does it guarantee any form of interaction with people that work for the company, nor are you entitled to it.

But to answer your question: Yeah, probably… A ban on one account will likely influence other accounts attached to your battlenet account. The extent of that is up to Blizzard. Like if a multiboxing botter had one sub account get banned for botting, they will likely ban all the other attached accounts with it.

1 Like

i think you’re misunderstanding the context of what you quoted.