Communities for new RPers

Hello WRA. I finally transferred my characters over here after years of being interested in starting RP. I have my TRP filled out and I have a good idea of my character’s story and background.

I’m brand new to RP. I am really shy and nervous to approach people. I have no idea how to actually RP. I’m still unsure what kind of personality I want my character to have and how I want her to behave. Are there any communities (preferably discord) that can help newbies? Somewhere that won’t make me feel stupid for asking stuff? I am a long time wow player but brand new RPer.

I’m so excited to finally be a part of this community. Thank you for any help!

1 Like

The Wyrmrest Community Project is definitely a place to go. People are friendly and will listen to your character ideas and offer constructive ways to achieve what general goal you want. 7PY25buzpK is the Discord invite code.

I definitely recommend attending a few events, too, because it can be a bit low-effort being a face in the crowd. I personally am part of a performance guild (The Tirisfal Theatre Troupe), and our events are great for newbies and non-RP’ers that want to watch RP without being pressured to participate. I believe the story circle is also pretty good for that.

9 Likes

If you want a space ingame to try things out and ask questions, part of the reason I run the teahouse is to create a safe space for people like you. Our regulars are very supportive, more than happy to answer questions in whisper channels, etc. I have pretty much a zero-tolerance policy for people who give others a hard time about lore, character design, etc.

We’ve even got a couple of Vulpera who show up fairly regularly, so there’s that as well.