Button Bloat from the Perspective of a Middling Player

Button Bloat from the Perspective of a Middling Player

I do not expect this post to be seen by many, let alone anyone at Blizzard, so I share it mostly to move the thoughts from my head to “paper”.

Button bloat is also a highly subjective matter on which many have spoken before, so this post is simply intended to share my perspective.

This is a hard topic to talk about without visualizations, so I have created a PDF version of this post that includes some basic visualizations:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1I7XMo4-83f9bN57A70JQe0RMYSU588E1/view

Context

I am 42 years old, and I have been playing WoW — on and off — since 2004. I currently play the game 10 to 20 hours a week.

I almost exclusively play retail, and rarely engage in PvP.

In Season 3 of Dragonflight, my highest rated mythic+ character reached 2,946 with 31 timed runs of 20+ dungeons. The highest key I have been able to time was 23.

In the same season, my highest rated raid character reached 9/9 normal and 6/9 heroic.

With such a broad player base, my performance is undoubtedly above average, but only in the most dry and technical sense. I consider myself to be a player of thoroughly average skill, whose performance is slightly boosted by the amount of time I put in to the game and the company I keep.

I am struggling to play more than a handful of classes due to the button bloat currently present in the game.

I will be using Elemental Shaman as my example in this analysis because the current tier set mandates fire builds, which happen to align closely to what I find comfortable when it comes to button count. Yet this class still manages to slightly exceed my comfort in fully optimized single target builds.

Key Bindings & Comfort Level

I run a key binding setup that supports up to 35 active abilities (abilities I could trigger with a key bind or otherwise practically access during combat).