[Brazil] Terrible route to Blizzard, very high latency every few minutes

Let me start by saying I’m a network admin, so if you need any additional information just ask away.

For a few weeks now I’ve had absolutely abysmal latency every 30 or so minutes to the game, to the point that the game halts completely and only comes back when the lag ends, which usually lasts anywhere from 1 to 10 minutes.
The problem would eventually stop happening, until it came back a few days later.
Lately it’s been happening nonstop every 10 to 60 minutes, to the point the game has become completely unplayable.

I’m connecting to US East/Central and it seems the issue only happens for these regions, as I’m monitoring US West and Oceania and I don’t see latency spikes on those.

Here’s what it looks like during the issue.
i.imgur . com/zCUKDLw.png

Here’s what it should look like.
i.imgur . com/XpsYoje.png

Here’s how the latency spikes look on a graph.
i.imgur . com/wpxa7wp.png

This is for the last 7 days.
i.imgur . com/7vNer8i.png

2 Likes

I have been experiencing latency issues since this morning, if I restart the launcher it will sometimes be good and then start to climb within 10mins.

For what it is worth, I’m on the east coast and I play on a central server. I have the same issue, mine for example is normally Home 32ms, World 32ms and nearly never a DC. Today it has been Home 32ms, World 800-4000 and DCs every few seconds. Wow is completely unplayable at the moment. (Side note, today is my first day playing in a week due to vacation, so I can’t say about the last 7 days prior to today.)

Myself and several others have done traces, and it seems to be a Level3 Node between us and one of the data centers that is causing the issue. Using a VPN to create a route that bypasses that node resolves the issues.

1 Like

I’ve been having this same problem for days, if you can fix it let me know here. I’m seriously thinking about stopping playing because it’s unplayable