Any tech-people able to advise a total noob?

Posted this in another forum but was advised to post here. Trying to get as much help as I can with this issue.

I’ve started to think of upgrading my computer in preparation for Shadowlands. I’m a pretty big newbie when it comes to this sort of thing, but it’s something I’m considering now that I’ve come into a little bit of money (the stimulus check).

My current video card is a “NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645”. This is what I’m looking at purchasing.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M25X363/ref=dp_cerb_1
For the most part I’m just wondering if this would be worth purchasing, or whether or not it would even be placable in my computer. I know absolutely nothing about this sort of process, what video cards are or how they work, etc. Would the price tag for something like that yield a worthwhile performance increase and kill my worries regarding the demands of Shadowlands?

Without even knowing your other specs I’m going to suggest getting a new PC. That card is 7 years old. Replacing it with a GTX 1050 Ti may not improve anything if your CPU is bottlenecking it. Just curious, but what are your other specs? And if you need to replace your PC, what is your budget?

3 Likes

Hi,

Sorry I lost track of your other thread. You’ll probably also get some good advice here though so it was good to move. Here’s a link to it that has his dxdiag. Is this computer upgradeable for Shadowlands?

The 1050 ti isn’t a world beater by any means. It’s about 20% better than the gtx 760 which is the minimum requirement for shadowlands. It’s a pretty decent step up from your 645. I think it will get you through the expansion on low to medium settings at 1080p. Your psu can handle a 1660/ti/super, possibly need a 6 to 8 pin converter, but it would bump your cost up to about $250-$300+.

1 Like

I’ll pull from that thread then.