Why do pros use Ravagers for almost everything?

Hey all,

I’m a quite noob low Plat player, and I see players like Rogue using strategies like Ling Bane Roach Ravager versus armies that are a hybrid of ground and air units.

My initial thought would be to play Ling Bane Hydra instead of LB Roach Rav because Hydras can always attack air and deal approximately 20.34 DPS at 0 upgrades for their 150 (100/50) resource cost.
Ravagers, on the other hand, cost 200 (75/25 for the Roach, 25/75 for the morph, total 100/100) and only deal 14.04 at 0 upgrades + a whopping 8.6 Corrosive Bile DPS, for a grand total of 22.64 if you get a good Bile smack on that Stalker.
What makes me the most Ravager-averse is the fact that it can’t reliably hit air units against an army with air units. This doesn’t make a ton of sense, but I do see the implications against a full ground army.

As always, thanks for taking the time to help a n00b like me.
For the Swarm!

Ravagers morph quickly, don’t need any upgrades for speed or range while still outranging most zerg units, and biles are used more for zoning air units away rather than expecting a hit many times. They also have no armor affinities and have 50% more hp than hydras, making them much more tanky. They also don’t require a lair or an additional tech building to morph, plus a higher burst damage, meaning armor is less effective vs them

6 Likes

To add onto this, they are extremely good at sniping liberators and siege tanks. They are also good at forcing slow air units to move, which tends to reduce the amount of DPS they can put out (carriers no, BCs somewhat, tempests yes, so on). People used to play ling bane hydra a few years back, but then people realized how good ravagers were, so everyone uses ravagers now. Plus I think hydras got some nerfs back in the day? Like upgrade split, something with their DPS, and cost? Can’t remember fully. There’s plenty of other reasons and cases, but overall, ravagers win out just about every time.