Protoss in Sc1 Story

So we’re led to believe that Protoss could “glass entire planets” with their fleets. I’m not an expert on lore, especially in sc1, so can someone explain to me how?

There is no conclave unit with massive laser beams with which to “glass” a planet. Not that we can play with, anyway. In nova covert ops, we see the scale/size of void rays as they attack korhal, but the conclave didn’t have void rays: they’re nerazim.

In the opening to starcraft 1 we see a mining vessel get smashed by a protoss laser. No unit in sc1 has a constant beam attack that looks like that.

I guess the safest guess would be a planet cracker from a mothership? But that thing takes a year to charge up and affects a relatively small area. With Chau Sara’s destruction, the game describes it as though everything died within minutes. Surely the Protoss didn’t bring 4-5 purifiers to each zerg-infested planet.

Protoss carriers have special weapons that they can charge up and unload on a planet to glass it. They aren’t effective in ship-to-ship combat because they take too long to charge and aren’t accurate enough to really effectively kill anything short of some of the stupidly large Star Wars ships, which is why we don’t see it in-game.

Also, I’m pretty sure that Void Ray is a combine effort of both Khalai and the Nerazim.

3 Likes

The Conclave is ineffective, self serving, and self destructive. That’s pretty much the whole point of SC1’s protoss campaign.

You never get to see the planet busters because the Conclave never deploys them on any missions where they’re actually needed.

I’m not sure about self-serving. Isn’t selfless, over paragon trait is written in the Protoss’ DNA?

Also, I’m pretty sure that the conclave had no qualm into destroying all Terran to extinction. They ordered Tassadar to do it, but he refused to comply.

2 Likes