New in sc2 - Zerg learning tips?

Hi everyone! I’m new in sc2 and want to learn how play Zerg. Do you guys have any advice, tip or tutorial to accelerate the learning process?

Your best bet would be to watch videos on basic build orders and fundamentals. There are a lot of different sources - it’s mostly personal preference. PiG has a lot of videos that are very useful.

Good luck and welcome to the game!

1 Like

Step one: DO NOT WORRY ABOUT MICRO. Don’t touch your units that attack just send the things. Do not worry about APM. Don’t spam click crap to inflate APM. You can get masters with 130APM as Zerg. 100 is more than enough to get high diamond. Worry about micro. Micro to the point where you are producing just enough attackers to drone up. This is your primary goal. Get the queen injects every 30 seconds built into your brain. Search Loko in YouTube to see how he queen injects. He has a good video on it. I have to unlearn how I was injecting now that I am at like 150apm to get faster. It’s a huge deal. Do it right the first time! (Space bar to change bases while control plus inject hotkey is the fastest)

Use spawning tool (google it) and select a macro build as opposed to an all in. Your first step is going to be mastering 3 base macro builds.

The hardest part of Zerg is knowing when to make drones and when to make attacking units. So many games I would make a round of drones, a wave of units would come in and I would be like crap, if that wave of drones were attacking units I would have been fine haha…

Vibe on YouTube is my personal favorite. He has bronze to gm for every race. He literally will leave games where he ends up having to do too much micro (management of attacking units). That is how dedicated he is to making sure the stuff he does is appropriate for your level. He’s not busting out 300-500apm. He does things you can do easily.