How do I beat Void Ray Colossi with Terran?

I am a new Starcraft 2 player. I went through the campaign in hard difficulty as I have some experience in playing the game with Brood War. As I have noticed as Terran, I struggle against playing against Void Ray Colossi. I tried Vikings which kinda helped, but I was overrun in the end due to sheer numbers and lack of skill on my team and I. What do you guys suggest?

1 Like

Vikings, obviously. Vikings crush both Void Rays and Colossi. Something like eight Vikings one-shot a Colossus.

The reason you might be having trouble is, as you said, you lack skill (no insult intended, just understand that the game takes a lot of time to understand).

If the game goes late, Battlecruiser is a good response to Protoss air as well, as long as you have Yamato Cannon. Battlecruiser used to one-shot Void Rays but not anymore, so you need something to supplement the Yamato. Widow Mine is a good way to sort of prevent mass Void Ray from tailing your Vikings, which should be kiting the Void Rays while you engage.

Liberators are great if the Protoss keeps clumping is Void Rays.

4 Likes

Thanks for the response, I’m still learning all the units and their functions. Between learning the game and deciding what race to use, I’ve been doing some unranked games. Was able to close a 1 vs 3 after my teammates decided to bail on me from the least of resistances. I do like the resource pooling that Starcraft 2 has. It was bad when a teammate bailed in Brood War, but being able to collect resources all as one and forming three times to army potential allowed me to swing back and win.

Vikings are going to murder both those units. My guess is you didn’t have a good enough economy/not being on top of your macro cycles.