Hot Take: P1 Dehaka > Vanilla Dehaka

OK I don’t actually know how hot this is, but I know there was a thread bashing all of Dehaka’s prestige levels. So I’m here to say that Devouring One is really really good…better than vanilla good.

No it doesn’t scratch the Godzilla itch. Dehaka himself is obviously weaker.

But it return, his army gets far, far stronger. A large army with a 30% attack speed buff kills A LOT of stuff. Devouring an armored or biological unit gives incredible longevity. But the real big boi is, of course, eating psionic units. Screens of units literally evaporate. Scorching breath is an absolute joke compared to this. I really thought I was going to miss the AoE of his scorching breath, but not once did I even think about it once I started playing.

A level 15 Dehaka-zilla is fun. But devouring Dehaka is where the real power is.

4 Likes

Quick fix for you :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

The buff affects all nearby allied units so your partner’s army is also way the heck stronger if you’re fighting something together.

I don’t think eating psionic units causes an explosion for units. They just get ability cooldown reduction.

I mean…SOMETHING new is happening because when devour is used when dehaka is alone, it looks just like it used to. When it’s used when there’s an army around him, the game lags, the explosion visual is stacked a ton of times, and most importantly, enemy units just disappear.

It’s not really a hot take. I did say in that thread that it had more dps than vanilla Dehaka, but it’s just that none of Dehaka’s prestiges do anything to change Dehaka’s utility issue (the lack of it), which cause him to be runner up to Zeratul, Abathur, Vorazun, and probably even Raynor and Karax when it comes to mutation versatility.