Have zergs been over-nerfed?

Hello, i am a platinum 1 player, mostly play occasionally with very long pauses but i have been playing for almost 7 years.
I have played all races, mostly terran then switched to zerg.

I have the feeling zerg have really been over nerfed, but better players than me will maybe know better than me.
First, we have a totally useless unit : swarm host, which was a very good idea at the start, but it has really been nerfed to death. You just can’t play it, and it was very good against annoying players who just tank to death while building a powerful army.
Also, there is the protoss air problem. Actually, the only way for a zerg to beat a toss going air (void + carriers) is to prevent the army for being created by being offensive. If you don’t, well i have the ugly feeling that no army composition of any kind can beat a full air toss army.
Also, zergs are behind in basically everything in unit power. Thors will ruin everything in the air, toss air will ruin everything (period), the only thing we have that is actually preventing zerg from being absolutely destroyed is lurkers and their distance upgrade.

I am not one to complain easily, have made more than 4000 games without complaining, but it is my feeling that zerg have been over nerfed. At the very least we need to improve swarm hosts one way or another.

Cheers

3 Likes

I really feel we should at least watch how things play out a bit after a big balance patch before jumping to conclusions.
We’ve seen HSC, basically. Which was way too soon after the patch to say much.

The only issue I feel confident to say anything on is that the charge and observer nerfs were BS, because protoss wasn’t doing well before the patch, and certainly didn’t need nerfing.

7 Likes

Yep, i am not one to favor over complaining about balance, but right now i feel zerg only viable option is to go for lurkers. I just read through the forum and apparently i am not the only one to feel this way.