Goliath in Multiplayer

Recently I’ve been going through the WoL campaign again and what happened to the Goliath? It is kinda an all around unit on a brutal campaign but if it was nerfed then why couldn’t it be in multiplayer? I only started playing SC2 kinda seriously about 2 years ago, and I haven’t found a reason not have it, other than it being an OP (tier 1.5, tier 2) unit.

To account for that you could make the unit itself a bit bigger to have less damage density and you could slow the attack speed down for its anti air attack. I don’t expect it to be traded or anything this is just something I’m thinking about recently

2 Likes

The design team decided to give almost every unit one active ability to compensate for the easier unit control interface. I think that it was a bad design, but we have what we got.

Terran have the cyclone for mech aa now, it deals great damage, but fragile and micro intensive.

The warhound was going to be the goliath 2.0. It had an attack that did bonus to mechanical and it dealt AOE splash damage to air. But then they decided that they were going to bring the thor back, and made the warhound into the monstrosity we know it as. Way back in the day they were going to cut unused units and find something else better fill their role. But they chickened out at the last second and decided to retain every unit if if no one used it or they couldn’t find a way to balance it.

2 Likes

To be blunt, that isn’t a “goliath” either.

The point of the Goliath was that it was a very good anti-air and anti-capital ship unit with long range and decent DPS. That combination required the Goliath itself to be squishy (unlike all iterations of the Warhound and the Thor) and to have decent damage against armored air units rather than light.

In any case, Terran is fine without Goliaths at this point (a number of units overlap to fill that role well enough). They just would’ve been very nice to have.

3 Likes