Concerned about last night's attack on customs and MALWARE

I am not a programmer by any means, so i dont know how these things work exactly. What i do know is that i found out that some of the lobby names that were responsible for last night’s attack suggested that our computers are now infected with malware.

Is this a bluff, or should we be concerned?

The attack, from my understanding, only caused issues while your Starcraft II client was running; and quitting out the game entirely solved the problem.

I have also been told that the problem has gone away from multiple people I trust who are more invested in the problem than I am, but I haven’t seen a proper resource about this so I would maintain concerns about opening the custom games tab while connected to the internet.

2 Likes

My biggest concern is the attackers claiming that they had malware involved. Somebody had managed to see all the lobby names. The claims are what concern me. Unfortunately i cannot post the link to the image, but there are a few posts on the SC subreddit with the imgur link.

Sounds like they found a way to overflow the lobby name buffer. Maybe they overflowed the map name. It sounds like an injection exploit. The first places I’d check would be the map / lobby name validation algorithms. You look for user inputs that have complex algorithms. Complex algorithms tend to have bugs. With user input it can provoke a bug that allows code to be injected. Probably puts the lobby info in an sql database and it’s an sql injection.

Imagine being so stupid as to hack a video game service. Now the fbi is gonna throw your butt in prison for 10 years. If you are going to take on that kind of risk, at least do it on something worthwhile.

Always, always, always, strip user inputs of non abcd characters before passing them off to the rest of the code.

1 Like