Will Overwatch 2 support Linux?

The playability of Overwatch on Ubuntu Linux rivals Windows 10. By using either Protonbd or Lutris the game works flawlessly. SO why not release it for Ubuntu? More platforms the better right?

5 Likes

ngl this is my first time ever hearing about this

But it would be nice…

2 Likes

Ubuntu? or Linux?..

Both I guess…

Well id suggest checking Linux out in general. There are a lot of different distros to choose from. You may end up liking it for work, school etc. You can also dual-boot windows and linux on the same drive or on separate drives.

Yea why not installing w10 4head its only like 8gb orsomething

No.
Linux is not for gaming, never will be.
Everyone that games on linux is already doing so (both of you) there is no reason for any company to expand their development to support something with thousands of varieties of the operating system when there is no profit in it to support both of you.

1 Like

LOL the last I heard Overwatch wasn’t permitted on linux because Warden or whatever anti cheat they have now, doesn’t work on it.

Honestly though. whom wants to go through a billion steps at installing the game or using WINE . lolz.

The only good thing I’ve ever found good from a Linux distro is using it as a server.

And most only use it for accessing “the other side of the net”. i mean lolz…

1 Like

More platforms = more support and more testing. If it greatly increases your test matrix in exchange for a very tiny increase in users then it’s generally not considered worth it.

8 Likes

Windows was always the primary OS for PC gaming for various (good) reasons and it’s unlikely to change in the near future due to it’s huge mass and momentum. For this reason the best thing you can do is using Windows for gaming.