Why doesn't Ranked MMR Reset?

Hello, I am fairly new to the game at level 170, as well as forums so if this has already been asked a bazillion times, I apologize as I don’t know how to search for it. I’ve made the god awful mistake of playing ranked around level 70, thinking I was okay enough and to my surprise I got bronze… (sarcasm btw) A long while later I went back into it thinking I’d have a fresh start able to see how much better I got, but turns out I’m just stuck in elo hell and can’t carry myself out of it because I’m in support (my main role). It’s just disheartening I guess?

5 Likes

Just play hard carry supports such as Ana, Bap or Lucio (If you can make plays with him)

Climbing as Support is not impossible, I solo climbed from 800 to 2800 by one tricking Ana.

9 Likes

Resetting the MMR every season would lead to awful games, as bronze and GMs would get into lobbies together. It would take the matchmaker the entire season to sort everyone back into the SR in which they belong just for it to reset again in the following season.

If you dont belong in Bronze, you will make it out. Alternatively, you can buy a new account and start over. May actually be faster in your case.

5 Likes

that is statistically a small occurence and only for the first couple of placements. once the winners of winners brackets get sorted out from the losers of losers brackets, u just don’t have these collisions.

it would take approx 12-14 games to sieve players into roughly 300sr intervals from their true final ‘instantaneous’ rank. that is a really small price to pay for integrity restore. And it’s basically cleaner sorting then what you have on live (silvers with diamonds during lowpop hours, while bronze smurfs wintrade the same bronze smurfs every night of the week).

that is not how ladders should work.
the game rigs and smurfs plague ur progression.
5+ years without a reset means ranked integrity doesn’t exist.