Why did mercy get the thai themed skin

im no expert on this stuff and this is just my (and all my friends) opinion so dont go yelling at me, and if im wrong in any way just tell me. but why did mercy get the thai themed skin? and not the only actual thai character in the game? is that not weird to anybody especially after lifeweaver got a victory pose and a spray this season and thats it? i know they just wanna sell mercy but im honestly kind of salty lmao. i always hear old ow1 players say how much worse this games gotten money and greed-wise, i only started in may of this year and i can already tell they’re right. i wanted to show my cousins and friends this game but whats the point when the company only cares about selling their female characters and making money

7 Likes

Probably because mercy is popular. Poor lucio, barely getting any skins of his own.

10 Likes

According to Tweet (X?) made by a member of the art team this Mercy skin predates Lifeweaver’s development.

And yes, they will prioritize targeting where they see money that’s the f2p BP way. I called it when they announced the monetization shift that fan favorites would eat and less beloved heroes would starve. Is it unfair? Yes, but there’s a direct dollar link between popular and profit now.

We have only seen one skin for that event, we don’t know how many more skins are involved nor who might be getting them. I’m holding out hope for Weaver, Kiri and Symm getting thier own LNY skins tbh. Weaver needs some good looks as bad as Baptiste does.

9 Likes

She really shouldn’t have. The fact that other heroes would have fit the idea better aside, it’s her 3rd asian-culture themed skin and visually looks so close to the other two (miko and Zhuk(?) I definetly spelled that wrong) that it feels unnecessary.

If not Light weaver then it should’ve gone to mei or sym

10 Likes

Perhaps Mercy getting a Thai skin, was the cause of them creating a “Mercy-like” Thai hero?

2 Likes