Unpopular Opinion: Genji Buff

Disclaimer: I am not trying to encourage people to start a riot, I.e. #DeleteBrig or anything of that sort. This is my opinion and it is extreme subjective.

Hello, I am a genji main with over 150~ish hours on him. So clearly I have a lot of experience. What I also like to include is that I have been playing since season 3. So let’s cut to the chase. Playing genji feels like absolute sh#t and it feels reminiscent to season 3’s triple tank comp. How is it reminiscent? Well, genji does almost zero damage due to the fact that healing is in its most OP state right now. Before 3-3, killing was very easy. But now it feels like you HAVE TO hit those headshots or else you don’t kill, and this goes for a lot of heroes. Not killing means insta punish and the punish feels way too much. For example, if you dash and kill someone and then ghost dash, but miss and dash on a wall, you die. Only way you do not get punish is to have your team save you, which is really rare. Also, deflect feels greatly underwhelming, which is surprising because deflect used to be one of the best ability. As of now, it feels like it’s only intention is to build ult charge. Dash is alright, basically a kill confirm and a faster ult charger than deflect, and blade is good only if you combine it with other ult.

So the most common solution is to buff him, right? Well, I believe that he should get more mobility and deflect revert instead of those usually damage buff. More mobility means getting punished is not as severe as it was before. Deflect feels way too small and I think they should revert it. It might not help the fact that he does no damage, but looking at all the changes in past, I do not want Blizzard to go overboard and make him a SSS+ must pick top tier.

4 Likes

of course a genji thread gets zero replies lol … the community and devs dont give a damn about the hero. Unless many people complain nothing will change, that’s how balancing goes in this game

4 Likes