Tank Tips For Pushing

How do I push up when my shields are getting melted. I was told I need to be more aggressive. (We won our match because our support were playing lights out) but after I was told I am not good at being aggressive with my shields. How do I push up so my team can?

If you are running Rein you can shield hop to keep the shield up a bit longer, you can ask a Zarya or Dva to mitigate some damage on you, or you could pick a route to point that has less long sightlines. As Orisa you can use your fortify when you shield is down to push more and in general a lot of Orisa’s don’t put the shield forward enough. When I was learning her my buddy would tell me to try to take bites out of the space in front of me and to put the shield 5 meters further than I was comfortable with.

In general as a tank make sure you are using your hp to push when you need it. It’s an important part of your kit and if you’re high health all the time then you are likely too passive.

3 Likes

Don’t let it break. If using VC, tell your team when your shield is about to break and you are going to cover. If not using VC, hop when you shield is low as you move to cover - this visual cue, when repeated throughout a match, is hard for teammates to miss.

Always look for your next cover point to charge your shield. Again, try to never let it completely break.

In the old days before the shield Nerf, I got over 50k damage blocked in one match. That may not seem like a lot for someone who is a Rein main, but for me (a non-Rein main) it was pretty epic.

2 Likes

I think you’re using Reinhardt.
Hide behind a wall until your shield&hp is full again.
Wait until your team groups up and start to press W+LMB.
Possibly, try to use shorter routes to receive less damage.
Stay close to corners in case shield breaks.
If you charge, just do short charges.
Don’t press E when pushing or you get your team almost killed half-way.

3 Likes