So.. how to improve, as a noob?

Hi there,

Alright basically, I’m pretty bad at Overwatch. Also apologies in advance for the slight wall of text!

I’ve no experience at all with first person shooters, the last I played was Quake III Arena around eighteen years ago. I was pretty good at that then! Buuut that was a long time ago.

So fast forward to today and I can say I’m a pretty decent gamer in general. I’m pretty good at mobas - I’ve got all the achievements on the Dark Souls games - I’d say I’m ok. But for the life of me, I suck at Overwatch.

I’d really like to improve though! The thing is, with the other sort of games I play, I can read guides to understand the game better and then improve my game. With Dark Souls for example, I found parrying tough, so I watched a bunch of videos and read a bunch of guides on parrying - then went into the game, practised with what I’d learnt a bit, and now I’m good with it.

With Overwatch it’s just not the same though, my aim seems just as bad as when I started. I (think) I know the basics in theory - but putting them into practice seems nigh on impossible. My damage in games is frankly just embarrassing. If I try a tank character I seem to just die (a lot). And when I’m a healer I do marginally better… but honestly, not by much.

So after all that my question really is, how do you improve? Is it really just a matter of practice, practice, practice, more so than other ‘non-shooter’ games? Are there any general tips you can give that you might not find when you just google ‘Overwatch tips’?

The damage characters do appeal to me most, I guess I’m just that sort of player - so I really, really would like to improve. But I’m just getting so frustrated being this bad!

Any help or information would be much appreciated!

1 Like

I have been playing for about 9 months, it is my first pc game & second fps after Plants vs Zombies Garden Warfare on XBox360.