Barriers ever good against snipers... Really ? When?

Can anybody explain me why do most people on these forums think barriers were ever efficient against snipers in Overwatch’s history ?

Is this a elo issue or something ? I’ve been playing this game since 2016 and I’ve never heard of this before. Why 2019 Overwatch players think shields are a good counter to a good Widowmaker ?

Do they realized this just zones the entire team that will most likely die right after getting dived ?

Why do people think Winston, Hammond or Dva (well with current nerfs Dva I could understand) are not good against snipers ?

Snipers are supposed to be harassed, jumped on, distracted so they can’t aim and shoot at people. All it takes is a mobile tank and either a DPS or a fast healer (Lucio, Moira, Mercy).

I don’t want to brag about ranks or something but as a Master support since season 4 or 5, I’ve never seen anyone think shield tanks such as Rein, Orisa (or Sigma more recently) were any good to countering snipers.

It just makes Rein hold his shield forever and it breaks at some point while Widow is free.

A free Widowmaker is always gonna win. You ignore her, you lose. Simple as that. You can’t just “get past her” from a distance, she must be dived and shield tanks can’t do that (unless Rein has a leap ability I’ve never heard of).

Have some people missed a few classes when it comes to Overwatch strategy or these “nerf snipers” spam threads are basically trolling and insisting until devs cave in and nerf snipers so people that dont’ want to learn how to counter them are not bothered with this ?

Thanks in advance for your constructive answers. I really want to know why this is.

4 Likes

Orisa Rein kinda made snipers a bit laughable :slight_smile:

5 Likes