An alternate take on how to fix DPS queue times

In a previous thread, I posted about the psychological issues present in OW that make DPS the most satisfying heroes to play. Full disclosure, I work in education and most of my working life is spent essentially doing behavior modification. If I want one of the students I serve or teachers I supervise to be excited about doing something, I have to work to make it appealing to do so. Also full disclosure, I play supports and only supports in comp. My skill level is much higher on those heroes than tank or DPS and my sense of duty to my teammates is such that I don’t play anything else.

All that is to bring up this experience I shared in the other thread:

Breaking 100 assists had long been a low-key goal of mine. If a DPS player were to put up something equivalent, he or she would be on fire the whole match, have POTG, a post-match card upvoted to legendary, several angry messages accusing him of smurfing, and a youtube video to commemorate the occasion. The in-game feedback I received for such a performance was nothing close to that. (In fact, I received such little feedback I didn’t even realize until our final attack in 2cp OT that I even had a chance at breaking 100.)

So this post is my encouragement to blizzard to begin to take a look at the psychological rewards they offer to support (and tank) players. Shouldn’t the games sound cues, cards, and incentives make me feel like a god after I put up the support match of my life? Wouldn’t more people play support if it did?

14 Likes

Like I said in the previous post, This I think is the fundamental problem with Tanks and supports, but tanks especially, the feedback just isnt there to tell you if your doing your job properly or not, as a tank your job is to make space for your team but how do you track that, what is the “space made” stat? Most people dont even know what that means let alone how to do it