What if I Copy a Colossal Minion?

Is there any clarification of what will happen when you COPY a Colossal (like with Faceless Manipulator, or the new Ini Stormcoil)?

They said that when you summon a Colossal (without playing it), you aswell will get the rest of their body. But, even if copy most of the times is a summon, it also has its own subtleties and restrictions (Like a Dormant minion is not Dormant if you copy it).

So copying a Colossa could work in a couple of diferent ways, and all would make sense. From getting just the “body” that you targeted and nothing else, to getting the main body with all its parts and the parts might even keep the stats and effects that they had at the moment.

So again, is there any clarification???

Pretty sure they only said whenever it’s summoned it spawns the minions.

Playing a faceless counts as summoning, does it not ? So in theory I think you would get the colossal tokens.

2 Likes

No, it won’t spawn adds.

The minion you’re playing is being summoned, and then it turns into the colossal. Transform into is not the same as summon a copy. The latter would get adds.

1 Like

I think it spawns the whole body even if it comes from an evolve effect, so it probably works

Ini should summon the full body. Faceless likely will not.

1 Like

I suppose everyone is running Zola? :sweat_smile:

That is incorrect. On 3/19 Gallon confirmed on Twitter that transforming a minion into a Colossal will summon the appendages. A Colossal will gain its parts whenever it “enters” the battlefield not just played or summoned.

5 Likes

That’s a bit inconsistent.

Dormant doesn’t work that way and it’s the closest thing to colossal wording.

It sounds like what he meant was when you transform a minion, like through evolution. That works the same as dormant.

Faceless manipulator does not gain dormant and I doubt it gains appendages.

1 Like

If you use the new 4 mana Priest spell that silences and then copies a minion to copy a colossal minion would you get the adds?

No because you copy the silenced minion. So the colossal text is already gone before it enters your field.

1 Like

Yeah you’re right, I thought Colossal might be like a tribe I.e. a Murloc is still a Murloc even if it has been silenced, but the Colossal text is on the card main description area.

Just clutching at straws really trying to make sense of that Priest card!

well
collosal is a new type of minion with its own rules…

Which is what happens when you start cycling all of your core developers.

The wording though is the same.

If I said when you see X, do Y.

And then I say:

When you see B, do Y.

You then can’t say Y does something different in each scenario. Y is consistent, even if X and B are different.

Thus, when dormant hits the board, whether it’s from summoning or from evolving, dormant becomes active. When you copy dormant, the copy does not become dormant.

The same should apply to colossal because colossal works when it hits the board from summoning or evolving. We should not expect copies to summon appendages just like we should not expect copies to go dormant.

If it works the way you think where copies summon appendages, then it is inconsistent with the wording on the card.

if all collosals summon their parts its consistent

the inconsitency would happen if one of them doesnt

1 Like

It seems that nothing official had been said. I guess that we will learn about it ones everything goes live.

not official ?
why ?
the tweet from someone working at blizzard isnt official enough ?

I know there is a tweet about Summoning a Colossal. But there is not a tweet specifically talking and clarifying what happens when you “copy” one (or maybe I am wrong and there is a tweet about it).

From what I know, both options are equally valid. It might work in its own way and any Colossal that touches the board comes with its parts. Or it might work just like Dormant, when you copy one, it is not considered a “new” minion, it is a minion that already go through some stages and so, the copy should not do the same.

I see it this way (it’s what they told us): the colossal minion is just a minion that couldn’t fit in one card; when you summon the main part, the rest is summoned because it’s part of the same card.

In either case, if dormant and colossal works differently I don’t think it’s a big problem: they are different mechanics after all, so they can work independently

If all dormant minions go dormant it’s consistent with that way as well

But they don’t. Dormant copies don’t go dormant.

Colossal summon their parts when they enter the board just like how dormant goes dormant when it enters the board. Copies currently do not trigger on arrival of the board effects.

That’s how copies currently work.

1 Like