My opponent just won on turn 13 with: Lorekeeper Polkelt, followed by Holy Wrath, drawing what I assume was The Ceaseless Expanse by the 125 damage dealt.
TCE’s text does not say “while holding this” or anything related to it being in hand.
The wording indicates a static effect and does not care where the card is.
Either the cost reduction is not being checked correctly when drawn, or the card text is wrong.
Cards in the deck are considered at full cost
Cost reductions are only applied once drawn or when specifically looking into the deck
There are few exceptions but that’s still the general rule
2 Likes
This makes sense for TCE being placed on top of the deck.
Once it’s drawn, though, the cost reduction should be applied.
Thus, the damage to be assigned would be significantly less than 125.
Once it’s drawn, yes
But the damage is dealt before the card is fully drawn
That’s a 12 years old interaction we’re talking about, it was already a thing with the 20 mana molten giant back in classic
Either they don’t consider it the problem to solve, or can’t because of tehnical limitations
When it became a real problem with order in the Court, they prefered nerfing order in the court rather than changing either Holy Wrath or the way mana cost is handled
I believe the cost reduction is applied once it enters your hand.
But as it is being drawn, it is not in your hand yet.