Ice Trap says, “When your opponent casts a spell, return it to their hand instead”. Meaning that it should not play that spell and thus not trigger the 3rd card required for Rat Trap to trigger.
The spell is returned to the hand instead of being cast
It still has been played
However this is not consistent with other cards that rely on spells/cards being played.
Educated Elekk will not memorize the spell that triggered the ice trap, Sasquawk will not replay it…
If rat trap was worded “whenever your opponent plays their third card in a turn” then ok, since it’s a whenever, the secret would trigger before ice trap denies the spell. But it’s worded “after your opponent plays three cards in a turn”.
If Rat trap attests that a card has been played, said card should be replayed by Sasquawk.
It even prevents Lorewalker Cho to give the opponent a copy of the spell despite being worded “whenever a player casts a spell”
Not correct. Returning and Сountering prevents any other effects which trigger after a card is played.
Rat Trap, however, is the exception for this rule. It does not respect if the card didn’t land, i.e. if you first cast spell which is prevented, then you cast it again, and then play a minion, it will still trigger.
Then why do combo card activate their combo after you play a spell that triggers an ice trap ? Their unique condition is that you already played a card, so a card returned by ice trap is still considered played in that situation.
My whole message was showing how the card is inconsistent, I don’t really see what you are trying to achieve by saying that I’m wrong pointing to inconsistencies in the card’s behavior
Fixed in 32.0:
[Hearthstone] Fixed a bug where cards that tracked cards played (such as Rat Trap) sometimes counted Countered cards and sometimes did not. Countered cards should not count towards this kind of tracking.