Matchmaking question

How does matchmaking work? I’m new to Hearthstone and I’m having fun but I just feel like I’m outmatched every time I play another person. They’ve got so much unlocked and I figured I’d be matched closer to my skill/experience level.

Here is what I know about matchmaking. In all cases, the algorithm starts by searching for a very close match, but gradually broadens the search parameters to avoid long queue times. So esp. at quiet times, matches might not be ideal.

• Ranked ladder, legendary ranks: Looks for an opponent based on the “MMR” (match making ranking) score, that works in a way similar to e.g. ATP points for pro tennis players: they go up on wins and down on losses, and the amount gained or lost depends on the difference between your and your opponent’s MMR. The MMR is not visible, but you can get a rough idea of your MMR by looking at your legendary rank, because that rank is based on sorting by highest MMR.
  • Ranked ladder, non-legendary ranks, WITH bonus stars: Same as above: based on MMR. Except in this case there is no way to get even an idea of what one’s MMR is.
  • Ranked ladder, non-legendary ranks, WITHOUT bonus stars: Looks for an opponent in the same rank (e.g. Silver 3, or Apprentice 24)
  • Casual, Tavern Brawl: Similar to above: based on player’s MMR. (I do not know whether this uses the same MMR as ranked games, or whether each game mode has its own MMR)
  • Battlegrounds: The game tries to put eight players of comparable MMR into a game. This MMR is independent of other game modes, specific for Battlegrounds only, and it is exposed to the player in the game client