Does the word "Tempo" actually mean anything?

That word gets thrown around a LOT when describing plays, and I’ve never been able to figure out quite what it means.

Every guide I’ve read or person I’ve asked has answered by giving examples of what they think tempo is, but the examples are all different depending on the person, so my questions is:

Does that word actually have any meaning?

1 Like

I’m not an expert myself, and I too have struggled with the terminology. But here’s how I see the main play styles:

• Playing for tempo: When you make plays that try to win and then keep board control; this may involve playing more cards than your opponent (which can be bad in the long run, since it limits your future options). Tempo plays are typically minions with good stats for their mana cost, or minions with a Battlecry to help you make good trades (classical example: Shattered Sun Cleric, using the +1/+1 to buff another minion so it can make a favourable trade and remain on board; or Twin Tyrant in a situation where it can clear the board and remain as a solid body).

• Playing for value: Here you try to get the most value out of each card. When possible, play a single card per turn to keep a good choice of cards for the next turn. Try to get value e.g. by looking for 2-for-1 trades with your minions, saving your big removal spells on big boards, and using your lesser spells when they suffice. You often lose some pressure at first, but if the game goes long, your long-time value wins. Most of the new minions that start dormant are value plays. You pay e.g. 2 mana now for effectively doing nothing, but it’s an investment in a minion worth more than that 2 mana normally would give you, 2 turns later. Deathrattle minions often fit in value decks too. As do most of the quests.